Full List: All T20 World Cup Winners

Must read

Full List: All T20 World Cup Winners

Full List: All T20 World Cup Winners

There are many teams that have won the T20 World Cup. But which team is the best? India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the West Indies are just a few.

Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 – Groupings, Schedule, and Tickets

This article will take a look at all of the winners and runner-ups, and how they won the competition. Here are some interesting facts about each team. Then, we’ll talk about how each team got there and how they will go on to win the next World Cup.

Sri Lanka

T20 World cup winner list | World cup winners, Cricket world cup, World cup

All T20 World Cup winners are from Sri Lanka! What makes Sri Lanka special? There are several reasons. The country has produced some of the best cricketers of all time, and its team spirit is unbeatable. Their victory against India is the most memorable in T20 history. Virat Kohli scored 77 in 58 balls, his eighth T20 half-century. They bowled with discipline, and all five bowlers managed to take a wicket.

Check Also: Australia trip of India 2022 for 3 T20Is in September

After Virat Kohli was run out, Kusal Perera was caught and bowled by Sachitra Senanayake. They lost their captain, Kusal Perera, in the second over. Tillakaratne Dilshan, whose innings ended at just 18 runs, was scalped by Ravichandran Ashwin in the sixth over.

Sri Lanka has been one of the best teams in the T20 World Cup. Their record in the tournament stands at 22 wins. That’s more than any other nation. They’ve appeared in more Finals than any other nation. They’ll be playing the T20 World Cup in UAE and Oman. The team’s core consists of Dasun Shanaka, Mahesh Theekshana, and Akila Dananjaya.

West Indies

T20 World Cup Winners List: ICC T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2020)

In the 2016 T20 World Cup, West Indies won the title with an incredible final against England. The Caribbean side needed 19 runs from Ben Stokes’ last over to win and despite losing a number of wickets, they managed to win with two balls to spare. Carlos Braithwaite hit four sixes in the last over to seal the win for the Caribbean side. Mohammad Nabi also starred in the tournament, leading the team with 18 wickets.

The team’s batting was top-notch, with Shane Watson and Marlon Samuels scoring well. West Indies captain Darren Sammy became the first captain to win the tournament twice, and the Caribbean team was too strong for other teams to handle. Shane Watson scored a record 249 runs, while captain Sammy smashed 26 off 48 balls. Sri Lanka bowled well under the pressure, taking four wickets for just 12 runs.


From India to Pakistan - ICC Men's T20 World Cup winners so far since 2007

The T20 World Cup was first played in 2007, and India won the tournament. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Rohit Sharma and Gautam Gambhir played an excellent inning for the home team. India maintained a target of 158 in the final, but Pakistan were unable to get close to the total. Misbah-ul-Haq, who led the bowling attack with 14 wickets, also played nicely.

The T20 World Cup was first played in South Africa in 2007 and the inaugural edition was won by India. Other teams were England, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and Australia. India had to play Pakistan in the first game to reach the semi-finals. In the semi-finals, India beat England, South Africa, and Sri Lanka. In the final, India defeated Pakistan by eight wickets and won the inaugural T20 World Cup.


T20 World Cup: List of winners from 2007 to 2016

The 2009 ICC Twenty20 World Cup was hosted by England. In the final, Pakistan defeated Asian rivals Sri Lanka by 8 wickets. The match took place in England’s Home of Cricket, Lord’s. Pakistan was led by all-rounder Younis Khan, who scored 94 runs in the final. After the defeat to Sri Lanka, Pakistan reached its second World Cup final. Despite a poor start, Pakistan reached the final for the second time.

The tournament was originally scheduled to be held in South Africa, but the pandemic in Asia forced the cancellation of the competition. It was later moved to Australia, which was the first non-Asian nation to host the tournament. India, who had an inexperienced squad, beat Pakistan in the final and won its first T20 World Cup. They won their first World T20 title in the tournament’s inaugural season.


ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

It is no surprise that all the ICC T20 World Cup winners are from Australia. The Australian team won the event in a thrilling 85-run victory over India in front of a record crowd. Captain Aaron Finch said that Australia were “champions in waiting”.

In 2007, the ICC T20 World Cup was played in different countries. A total of ten teams took part. Australia and New Zealand played the first ever men’s T20 match in 2005. The Australian team won the competition in all three editions. It has since been hosted in many different countries. In 2016, it was held in South Africa. Originally, the tournament was to be held in India but the COVID-19 situation forced it to be shifted to Dubai.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article